Barrow Visit #6

Last week, the students were having a Storybook parade during the time I usually visit, so I did not go to Barrow. At Barrow this week, I observed the teacher as she lead students in a class reading and then assigned students to their “daily 5” groups. These include read-to-self, read to a friend, read on the iPads, word works, or making sight words with play dough. Once all of the students are in their correct groups, I worked one-on-one with a student that in fairly new. I worked with him a few weeks ago to assess his knowledge on counting, but today, I worked with him on some extra math help. He had a work sheet where he had to identity what number can be added onto a number to get 10. For example, 8 + ? = 10. I used a 10 bead bracelet to help him with numbers, separating 8 beads to one side and having him count the remaining beads. We worked on this for quite some time. Next, I pulled out another student to work with me in the hallway. We also practiced math! I wrote out word problems for her to solve, in which she had to decide if she used addition or subtraction based on the action. The numbers in these word problems were all below 10. I would have her draw circles to represent the objects and write a number sentence to go along with the word problem. After about 30 minutes, the class went out to recess and I helped stuff Monday folders.

Author: Anna Beasley

Early Childhood Education. UGA.

Leave a Reply

