Barrow Visit #3

When I arrived at Barrow, the teacher was reading The Wizard of Oz and they got to wear green for “Green Day.” I went and got a large piece of green paper for the teacher and then worked one-on-one with the students. The class is still working on long and short vowel sounds, this time with the letter i. I pulled students who needed some extra practice on this into the hallway. I had a stack of flashcards and mixed them up for the student. I made two columns for the long and short i and the student would place the flashcard in the right place. They also would say the word out loud and double check their work. With one student, we played an active game where if the answer was a long i, we would jump as tall as we could, and if the answer was a short i, then we would couch into a ball. After about 30 minutes, I went back into the classroom and assisted the teacher while the students made castles from the Wizard of Oz. I saw a lot of creativity and design skills in this group of students! Next, I read one-on-one with a student in the hallway. We read about transformers and I saw improvement just in the 20 minutes I was reading with him. We practiced sight words and new words together. Lastly, I filled Monday folders with the a week’s worth of papers.

 

Author: Anna Beasley

Early Childhood Education. UGA.

Leave a Reply

