Genius Hour Post 3

Continuing onto my research from last week, I’m going to find AT devices and apps for students with dyspraxia, dysphasia, auditory processing disorder, and visual processing disorder. For dyspraxia, students can use dictation software or touch screens to enhance their learning. Alternative keyboards such as sketching, WordBoard, and Emoji all support students with dysphasia. There tools are great for non-verbal students or low literacy communicators. Voice output devices are used commonly for auditory processing disorder, while large print texts, various text colors, and magnifiers are helpful for students with visual processing disorder.

assistivetech

I’ve had experience working with students with ADD/ADHD in the classroom, and I’m curious about assistive technology that aid these students. There are many visual timers and schedules for these students who have time focusing on one task at a time. Educational apps are recommended, tape for boundaries, and brain breaks (goNoodle) to aid these students. I have spend hours researching various tools and apps  for many different disabilities, and the type of assistive technology must fit the student’s environments, interests, and abilities. That being said, a teacher must observe and use a team of individuals to determine the best device for the student to be successful.

After viewing numerous genius hour topics of other classmates, I found a few common ideas that enhanced my knowledge on AT in general classrooms. It was difficult to find any topics that directly related, but many contained bits and pieces of my research. Danielle chose assistive technology for organization/study skills, which benefit all learners, ranging from severe autism to moderate learning disabilities. Madison investigated AT devices for students with dyslexia, which was one of the more common learning disabilities I researched last week! I found similar tools and also discovered new ideas. I enjoyed learning more about Jordan’s topic, which focused on depression/anxiety, because I personally went through school with anxiety and I can imagine how helpful it would have been with some support. Ansley’s post on inexpensive technology relates to my overall research because most of the AT tools I’ll be using in my classroom are low-tech.

I’ve also used twitter to find information that has enlightened me more about assistive technology in general classrooms. Some useful people to follow are @AssistTech for a wide range of ideas for UDL and examples for every subject and @ASHAWeb for communication devices. @pbsdAT actually helped me most because they had easy to access links and many apps for learning. There are many hashtags that describe AT and technology in the classroom that I have viewed relating to my genius hour topic, including #techeducator, #edtech, and #edchat.

Author: Anna Beasley

Early Childhood Education. UGA.

Leave a Reply

