Maker Journal Post #9

PERSONAL PROJECT POST #3:

Since I finished my origami garden, I’m going to create something new that interests me. The second part of my personal project will have more of a focus on stars. In elementary school, I remember the enjoyment gained from making stars, particularly the ninja star and the mini lucky star. The Ninja star is known as “Shuriken” in Japanese. I needed two pieces of paper, identical in size but different colors, for this particular creation. Each step that I did for one of the pieces of paper, I also did for the other. The corners of both are folded in opposite directions of one another on both the top and bottom. In step 15, I linked both pieces together to a form a ninja star. This one was the most difficult to make because you have to link the two pieces, and I couldn’t figure out which pieces went where.

The next piece of origami I worked on was the lucky star. Some people fill up a glass jar with these stars for traditional purposes. This is the only origami piece that started off with a different, strip-like piece of paper. I used a white strip of paper, 11 inches long by .5 inch wide. I started with a knot and basically wrapped the rest of the paper around the knot. To form the star shape, I pinched the sides as you can see below. This piece of origami has been the most simple so far.

Lastly, I made a pop-up star. The star isn’t revealed unto the very last step as parts of the paper pop-up. I started with the original 6 x 6 inch square paper, folding it in various ways. I eventually made many folds, representing the each point of the star, that become 3D at the end of the steps. This particular origami piece reminded me of the pop-ups made for children books. Individuals could also use these for decoration for events such as New Years Eve. Each fold has to be very defined of the creases won’t look like a star at the end of the makings.

Once again, a Makerspace would benefit from incorporating origami because  of the creativity needed to design something. Any child can be a maker as they tinker and create a whole collection of objects, like my garden and night sky. The instructions on http://www.origami-instructions.com/origami-stars.html are easy-to-follow and suitable for beginner origami makers.

 

Author: Anna Beasley

Early Childhood Education. UGA.

Leave a Reply

