Maker Journal Post #8

PERSONAL PROJECT POST #2:

Today, I added onto my origami garden. I decided to make this more of a challenge for me, so I timed myself while making each flower. I learned a few things from my first personal project post. This time, I’m going to use a ruler to cut and fold each flower, and be more patient with each fold to better my creations. The flower I worked on first was the Yamaguchi Dahlia flower, seen below. This particular flower isn’t traditional origami, but still interesting and unique to me. I started with a small piece of paper, 3 x 3 inches, and folded according to the directions listed. I then repeated each step 8 times in order to form all of the petals needed for this flower. I then glued them together and spread each petal out to form a circle of pieces. This one was my favorite, and took me about 10 minutes! It is pictured on the top right below.

The next origami piece I made was the Kusudama Flower. This one is similar to the Yamaguchi Dahlia flower in that it consists of various pieces of paper glued together to form a larger flower. You can do 4 or 5 petals with this one, but I decided to make 4. The appearance includes larger flower petals, with smaller petals in each petal. Many people commonly make a bouquet of these flowers with different petal numbers and colors. I really enjoyed making this piece of origami. I also added a leaf to them, in which I made separately. I used a green paper, 6 x 6 inches, and folded many ways to form ripple-like folds into the paper. The leaf turned out to be larger than I expected, but it was still a good addition to any of my flowers. It took me about 8 minutes to make this.

Students can use this activity in Makerspace because they are tinkering and designing, while also using their own creativity. A teacher can guide students with the basic skills of origami to  learn and practice with first, and then individuals can branch off and design something based on their personal interests. Students can either use step-by-step instructions, or create origami pieces on their own. Younger grades would probably have the most interest in this origami project, but there are very complex designs to use for older-aged children as well. This particular activity adds emphasis to the A in STEAM. It’s an easy and affordable set up for teachers, and can spark the interests of all children.

My goals for next week are to perfect my origami skills, rather than time myself and rush, and put all of my focus into each of my creations. I’m going to move on from the origami garden, and make a few stars in the night sky. This personal project is a great time for me to take a break from my busy school schedule and tinker with paper making. I usually listen to music of my enjoyment while doing this to make my time even more peaceful. The website, http://www.origami-instructions.com/origami-flowers.html, has a variety of levels and creations, which I used for my personal project.

 

Author: Anna Beasley

Early Childhood Education. UGA.

Leave a Reply

