Maker Journal Post #5

PERSONAL PROJECT #1:

I’ve been working on my personal project, an Origami Garden, for the past few weeks. I chose origami because my friends growing up had a great interest in it, and I would always try to build with them, but never had the patience. Using paper to construct a beautiful origami piece relates to Makerspace in the way that I have to tinker and play in order to successfully build, using my creativity. This personal activity increases hand coordination, strengthens my concentration skills, and improves my overall ability. It is also a calming activity for anxiety, which then builds patience. It improves skills such as geometry, problem solving, art, and 3D creativity.

The first thing I did was explore the website below in order to research and discover which flowers to create. I chose an easier flower to begin with since I needed some initial practice. The yellow flower below is called a cherry blossom flower. The pictures included are placed in the order that I created them in. Before I could begin any of the flowers, I had to cut each paper 6×6 inches. This ties in basic measuring skills into origami. I carefully followed step-by-step instructions and my first flower turned out pretty good! I used construction paper instead of origami paper, so occasionally my paper would tear.

Next, I created two roses; the first one being a simple rose, and the second being twisty Omuta rose. The second flower was still pretty basic, but I liked the unique look of it and the stem included in the directions. Some of the steps used origami terms that I had to look up in order to better understand. For my third flower, I had to watch a few videos before even starting in order to construct the right base. Next, I formed different shapes and angles and then flipped my paper over and did the same for the backside. Lastly, I had to twist my flower (picture below), which made this one the prettiest.

My plan is to make at least one flower every week, and move into more complex flower designs as I go. I hope to be more patient while I do this project so I can avoid the tearing and small mistakes. I’m going to save all of my flowers, and by the end of the semester, I will have a beautiful, colorful origami garden of all my creations. Origami is a hands-on activity that strengthens my overall STEM learning, creativity, and building. I want to use this activity in my future classroom if students finish early or have extra time.

Website used: http://www.origami-instructions.com/origami-flowers.html

Author: Anna Beasley

Early Childhood Education. UGA.

Leave a Reply

